This guide provides resources on Medical Terminology and will be useful in the BIOL 109 course.
Dictionary of Medical Terms (4th ed.) by Includes terms from British and international medical practice covering fields such as surgery, general practice, hospitals, clinics, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry and other specialisms. Also includes informal terms of the kind used between professionals or professionals and patients. --Credo
Quick Medical Terminology: A Self-Teaching Guide by Expand your working medical vocabulary Work at your own pace to master the latest terms and techniques Learn all the essential Greek and Latin building blocks Learn at your own pace with the guidebook that has sold over 400,000 copies What word is used to describe a fatty tumor? Why are qualifiers necessary in medical terminology? How does kinesialgia occur? What does'involution'mean? With Quick Medical Terminology: A Self-Teaching Guide, Fourth Edition, you'll discover the answers to these questions and many more. Using a unique word-building system that begins with a review of Greek and Latin word roots, Shirley Steiner provides the tools necessary for building and sustaining a large working repertoire of medical terms. This new fourth edition helps readers understand the simple logic behind hundreds of seemingly incomprehensible words, featuring new review exercises and up-to-date examples. The step-by-step, clearly structured format of Quick Medical Terminology makes it fully accessible, providing an easily understood, comprehensive overview. Like all Self-Teaching Guides, Quick Medical Terminology allows you to build gradually on what you have learned-at your own pace. Questions and self-tests reinforce the information in each chapter and allow you to skip ahead or focus on specific areas of concern. Packed with useful, up-to-date information, this clear, concise volume is a valuable learning tool and reference source for practitioners and students who need to expand, improve, or refresh their medical vocabularies. --EBSCO
Black's Medical Dictionary by A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. --Credo
Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary by A concise, up-to-date guide to the essential language of medicine. Contains More than 38,000 entries and covers the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs. --Credo
Webster's New World Medical Dictionary (3rd ed.) by Webster's New World Medical Dictionary, Third Edition will help you understand and communicate your medical needs when it matters the most. Written by doctors and the experts at WebMD, this edition includes 8500 entries, including 500 new terms, a vitamin appendix, and a companion website to give you access to medical language. --Credo
The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease by An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease. --Credo
Harvard Medical School Commentaries on Health by Commentaries written by Harvard physicians on the questions that people face every day related to fitness, nutrition, parenting, heart health, mental health, men's and women's health. --Credo
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health (4th ed.) by The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Understanding Medical Words: A Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
Medical Terminology (Skills Commons)
Public Health and Healthcare System Terminology (OER Commons)
Interactive Medical Terminology
Medical Terminology Course (Merlot)
You can use CREDO Reference to learn more about about a Medical Term. Try a Search for your term such as haemagglutination
Library Hours & Events