Today's Hours |
How do I renew items I have checked out?
Log in to your JonesSearch account to see what you have checked out and renew items online. You can also stop by the Circulation Desk, or give us a call at (612) 343-4492.
How do I check out items from the library?
NCU students, faculty, and staff can check out items using their NCU ID cards. If you are not an NCU student but are interested in using the library, please refer to our Guest Patron policy.
How do I find an item my professor put on reserve?
Visit the Help Desk & Checkout at the library to discover and check out items your professor has put on reserve for your course.
How do I find a Children's Literature item?
Children's Literature items are found on the lower level of the library in a separate space from the main collection (Room leading to the Treadmill desk/study room) The Children's collection is open to all library users. Visit the Help Desk for questions or help navigating the collection.
How do I create a JonesSearch account?
Follow these step-by-step instructions to create your JonesSearch account. This will allow you to place items on hold, renew books, and more. If you need help stop by the Circulation Desk, or give us a call at (612) 343-4492.
How do I pay fines for lost item fees?
The library no longer processes monetary transactions of any kind. All financial transactions are now processed through Student Financial Services. Any library overdue billing will be charged to your student account and is payable in person at the Student Accounts Center or online through:
Skyline > Colleague > Student Finance.
How do I place an item on hold?
You will need to have a JonesSearch account to place items on hold. While signed in, use JonesSearch to find the item in the catalog, and click the blue “Place hold” button in the item’s record. Items placed on hold are gathered at the beginning of each day and may be picked up at the Circulation Desk.
How do I download an EBSCO eBook?
Downloading an EBSCO eBook requires the following:
1. An EBSCOhost Personal Account (How to create an EBSCOhost account)
2. Adobe Digital Editions (Get Adobe Digital Editions)
For more information, see this guide to Checking out and Downloading EBSCO eBooks or video tutorial. Separate video tutorial for mobile devices.
How do I borrow and listen to an EBSCO audiobook?
Borrowing an Audiobook requires the following:
1. An EBSCOhost Personal Account (How to create an EBSCOhost account)
2. Download the free EBSCO Audiobooks App to your Android or Apple device (App Store or Google Play)
For more information, see the PDF guide in the link below.
How do I troubleshoot access to online resources?
If you are having difficulty accessing online resources, try clearing your browser's history and cache (look under settings). If you are still unable to access online resources, contact North Central University IT at 612-343-4170 to reset your password. If you have contacted IT and the issue persists, please contact TJ Jones Library team at reference@northcentral.edu, and we will assist with further troubleshooting.
Use this guide to troubleshoot common issues if you're having trouble accessing SWANK's movie portal. Contact us if you need any help!
Where are your various collections located?
T.J. Jones Library houses several collections, including the Audio/Visual Collection, Main Collection, Biblical Reference Collection, Reference Interfiled Collection, and the Children's Collection!
The entirety of our collection is stored in the basement and on the second floor. The main level is reserved for study spaces, group study areas, and a Computer Lab/ Tutoring Hub.
The Biblical Reference Collection, Children's Collection, and the Audio/Visual Collection are all stored in the Basement, as is the A and B portions of our Main Collection.
The C-Z portions of our Main Collection are housed on the second floor of the library.
What are the Library's hours today?
Monday-Thursday: 7:30am-12:00am (Midnight)
Friday: 7:30am-5:00pm
Saturday: 2:00pm-5:00pm
Sunday: 6:00pm-9:00pm
Are there places that I can study in small groups, or by myself?
Yes!
The Library has three separate study rooms. They are reservable and can be used as group work spaces, or solo work spaces.
We also offer a Silent Study room. Located on the Second Floor, the Silent Study is a place of strictly enforced quiet.
Can Alumni check out items?
Yes! As long as the Alumnus has an account with T.J. Jones Library.
Alumni can check out the same items that current students, staff, and faculty can. The only difference is the maximum number of items Alumni can check out at a time is ten.
Note: If the Alumnus does not have an active account, then a Guest Patron account can be created for them.
Can Alumni use the building and spaces?
Yes! Just like a Guest or Affiliate Patron, an Alumnus can use the library space. They only need to sign in when they arrive, and sign out before they leave at the Help Desk.
Can Alumni use our eBook and Database Collection? Sometimes! Alumni can use our online resources when they are in the building and using our Lab computers.
Can Alumni use Interlibrary Loan (ILL)?
Unfortunately no, Alumni cannot utilize this service. However, many public libraries offer ILL! This could be a useful alternative.