LibGuides: Alcohol & Drug Counseling: Web Resources

Web Resources

Organizations & Institutes

AA - Alcoholics Anonymous Alcoholics Anonymous is an international fellowship of men and women who have had a drinking problem. Their site contains information on their programs and local meetings, as well as a great deal of their literature.
CDC - Alcohol and Public Health Information and statistics on alcohol abuse from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Find CDC publications (full-text available), quick fact sheets, and other valuable information
DPA (Drug Policy Alliance) Use this website to learn about and research initiatives in drug policy, drug facts & substances, and addiction issues. The Drug Policy Alliance (DPA) is the leading organization in the U.S. promoting alternatives to the war on drugs. We envision a just society in which the use and regulation of drugs are grounded in science, compassion, health, and human rights; in which people are no longer punished for what they put into their own bodies; and in which the fears, prejudices, and punitive prohibitions of today are no more.
MARRCH - Minnesota Association of Resources for Recovery and Chemical Health A professional association of addiction treatment professionals and organizations striving to raise awareness about addiction and the power of recovery.
Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy The mission of the Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy is to protect the public through effective licensure and enforcement of the statutes and rules governing its licensees to ensure a standard of competent and ethical practice.
NAADAC - The Association for Addiction Professionals Represents the professional interests of more than 85,000 addiction counselors, educators and other addiction-focused health care professionals in the United States, Canada and abroad. NAADAC’s members are addiction counselors, educators and other addiction-focused health care professionals, who specialize in addiction prevention, treatment, recovery support and education. An important part of the healthcare continuum, NAADAC members and its 47 state affiliates work to create healthier individuals, families and communities through prevention, intervention, quality treatment and recovery support.
NACoA - National Association for Children of Alcoholics The national nonprofit membership and affiliate organization working on behalf of children of alcohol and drug dependent parents.
NCADD - National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence A voluntary health organization dedicated to fighting alcoholism, drug addiction and the devastating consequences of alcohol and other drugs on individuals, families and communities. Site includes information and resources for addicts, parents, youth, friends and those in recovery.
NIAAA - National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism A center of the National Institutes of Health that supports and conducts research on the impact of alcohol use on human health and well-being.
NIDA - National Institute on Drug Abuse A center of the National Institutes of Health whose mission is to advance science on the causes and consequences of drug use and addiction and to apply that knowledge to improve individual and public health.
SAMHSA - Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration The agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities. Find data, publications, and surveys collected by SAMHSA.
Teen Challenge USA Teen Challenge USA offers Christ-centered, faith-based solutions to youth, adults, and families who struggle with life-controlling problems.

Online Databases

Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs Serials Database
This database contains information about nearly 400 journals, newsletters, and monograph series in the field of alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs.
more...less...
It includes both active publications and those that have ceased publication, but may be of archival interest. The database was developed by SALIS members from the University of Washington Alcohol & Drug Abuse Institute Library.
Addiction Treatment Resource Guide Database
A comprehensive directory of addiction treatment facilities online. Addiction Resource Guide is an Internet company whose mission is to help professionals and consumers find resources for dealing with addictive problems.
Alcohol Studies Database
The Alcohol Studies Database contains citations of over 80,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987.
more...less...
The primary focus of the database is on research and professional materials dealing with beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences. While a growing amount of literature on other drug use/abuse has been added in recent years, this material represents only a small percentage of the database and is not indexed to the same depth as the alcohol literature. In addition to the research and professional material, the database also includes a small collection of educational and prevention materials, including audiovisuals, suitable for students and educators K-12, parents, community workers, and the general public. The records of the Alcohol Studies Database provide bibliographic citations only.