LibGuides: Education: Databases & Journals

Recommended Databases & Journals

Recommended Databases for Education

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Academic Writer (APA Style) This link opens in a new window
Academic Writer (APA Style) is a complete digital environment for APA Style and proper formatting. Use it to fully write your paper! Use the digital library of guides, videos, quizzes, samples, and more to master APA style.
Learn to:

-Compose various types of research papers.
-Think and write like seasoned professionals.
-Master the application of APA Style.
Britannica School K-12 Edition This link opens in a new window
Great for Education studies and future MN teachers looking for classroom or curriculum resources! This database is widely used by MN Schools and freely available to all MN residents via eLibrary Minnesota. Find Encyclopedia content for Elementary grades to High School grades.
Plus multimedia, timelines, world atlas, country comparison, animal kingdom, and geography explorer.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A digital reference library of dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations, and subject-specific titles, covering many subjects, all from leading publishers.

Credo Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing more than 500 high-quality reference books from some of the world's leading publishers, this is a great place to start your research. The database contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, as well as a variety of subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. Besides textual information, you can also find thousands of images (including 17,000 art images from The Bridgeman Art Library Archive), sound files (especially pronunciations of words), and animations.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 12,500 electronic books, including scholarly monographs, reference materials, and more.
EBSCO MegaFILE This link opens in a new window
A huge multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 16,000 publications.
A conglomeration of EBSCO databases, including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, and Regional Business News databases. MegaFILE is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 16,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and documents in education and related fields.

ERIC links to selected full text articles and documents from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Available through the Hennepin County Library (click on "Get a Hennepin County Library card" under Quicklinks to order yours today).
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, primary sources, and books covering the humanities, social sciences, math, and sciences. Articles generally become available 3-5 years after publication. Coverage varies by journal.
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
Find easy to read and short length articles on every topic. MAS Complete is a full-text database providing hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such art, history, sports and music, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for public libraries, this offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference eBooks and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines.
All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research.
All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions in English and German.
The platform counts over 1,000,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Recommended Resources for Education

Minnesota Reflections Primary Source Sets are modeled from the Digital Public Library for America Primary Source Sets and designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring a variety of topics related to Minnesota history and culture. Using both primary and secondary sources, these sets bring together different resources in new ways to help students better understand historic events and people in their context.

Ebooks Minnesota

Ebooks Minnesota is an online ebook collection for all Minnesotans. The collection covers a wide variety of subjects for readers of all ages, and features content from our state's independent publishers, including some of our best literature and nonfiction.
--Access may be limited if outside the State of MN. Contact the library for access questions.