A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
A digital reference library of dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations, and subject-specific titles, covering many subjects, all from leading publishers.
Credo Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing more than 500 high-quality reference books from some of the world's leading publishers, this is a great place to start your research. The database contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, as well as a variety of subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. Besides textual information, you can also find thousands of images (including 17,000 art images from The Bridgeman Art Library Archive), sound files (especially pronunciations of words), and animations.
Available through the Hennepin County Library (click on "Get a Hennepin County Library card" under Quicklinks to order yours today).
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, primary sources, and books covering the humanities, social sciences, math, and sciences. Articles generally become available 3-5 years after publication. Coverage varies by journal.
Designed for public libraries, this offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference eBooks and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Full-text essays that present multiple sides of debatable issues. Includes many Current issues! Find articles and news articles. Great for a Persuasive paper on an "issue."
Points of View Reference Center contains essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. For each issue, the database provides an overview, point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics covered include affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, stem cell research, and many more.
Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, dreawing from leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books. It is is a tool to help you develop persuasive arguments, understand controversial issues, develop analytical thinking skills, and write position papers effectively.
Umbra Search African American History (umbrasearch.org) brings together more than 400,000 digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.
Umbra Search African American History seeks to make African American history more broadly accessible through a freely available widget and search tool, umbrasearch.org; digitization of African American materials across University of Minnesota collections; and support of students, educators, artists, and the public through residencies, workshops, and events locally and around the country.
A semiannual magazine publishing poetry and poetry criticism covering both new and established writers, as well as articles and reviews. Focused particularly, but not exclusively, on Canadian poets. For general and academic audiences.
Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.