Today's Hours |
Market Data & Company Research
American Consumers Newsletter by New Strategist Press "New Strategist is your one-stop resource for understanding trends in the American marketplace. We produce consumer spending and demographic reference tools for businesses. Through baby boom and baby bust, from tech bubble to housing bubble, from the depths of the Great Recession to recovery, New Strategist has been tracking trends for more than 25 years. We know Americans—who they are, what they think, how much they make, and what they spend. We take the measure of the ever-changing consumer and provide the context for business strategy. We serve marketers, advertisers, small businesses, large corporations, entrepreneurs, consultants, business students, and policymakers." Some content is free and you can sign-up for the current American Consumers Newsletter. Other content is subscription paid access.
BusinessUSA The U.S. Government's official web portal to support business start-ups, growth, financing, and exporting. It is designed to provide access to online resources and services of Federal, state, and local Government as well as those of non-profit and educational organizations supporting businesses.
Consumer Expenditure Survey Provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
EDGAR - SEC Filings All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
The Federal Reserve Includes news, economic research and data, policy and regulation information and a list of publications.
Google Finance Google Finance offers an easy way to search for stocks, mutual funds, and public and private companies. By combining content licensed from financial data providers with content from the Web, Google Finance lets you easily find and manage your financial information online.
International Trade Administration (ITA) The International Trade Administration (ITA), an agency of the United States Department of Commerce, provides information, services, and expertise to help U.S. organizations compete in the global business environment. The ITA website menu directs users to a variety of helpful resources, including statistics, industry links, and export guides. One unique offering on the site is TradeStats Express, a tool for retrieving and visualizing annual and quarterly trade data at the state and national levels.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Maintained by the U.S. Dept. of Labor, the BLS contains a wealth of facts and figures related to the labor market, working conditions and pricing in the U.S. economy.
U.S. Department of Commerce Includes the official blog and newsroom of the U.S. Department of Commerce, as well as current economic data collected by the U.S. government.
U.S. Travel Organization The U.S. Travel Organization is a nonprofit association with a membership of over 1200 organizations representing multiple segments of the travel industry. Some of the association’s offerings are available only to members; however, much information on its website is free to the public, including industry fact sheets and toolkits, research reports, and interactive tools, such as a travel economic impact calculator.
United Nations World Tourism Organization The United Nations World Tourism Organization promotes the value of worldwide tourism as a driver of socioeconomic growth and encourages practices that support ethical and sustainable tourism development. The general public can freely access a wide range of information from the organization’s website, including a tourism glossary, country statistical reports, and an Elibrary with over 1300 publications and 1700 tourism data sets.
World Bank - Data The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog.
Yahoo Finance Company & industry information as well as investing and finance - markets, stocks, taxes, etc.
News, Blogs & Media
Bloomberg Bloomberg delivers business and markets news, data, analysis, and video to the world, featuring stories from Businessweek and Bloomberg News.
The Economist Online The web version of The Economist--includes a blog and an audio version of each week's edition.
Financial Times Blog version of the England newspaper "Financial Times." Find the full-text newspaper in the ProQuest Newsstand database (on the "databases" tab).
Harvard Business School - Working Knowledge HBS Working Knowledge is a forum for innovation in business practice, offering readers a first look at cutting-edge thinking and the opportunity to both influence and use these concepts before they enter mainstream management practice. The site features new work from among the more than 200 HBS faculty at the forefront of their diverse fields of expertise.
New York Times: Business Day Business, market and economic news by the New York Times.
Nightly Business Report A daily PBS program that highlights the top business and economic news from each day.
Wall Street Journal Online The web version of the Wall Street Journal.
Sports Business Daily Since 1994, Street & Smith's SportsBusiness Daily has provided the top decision-makers in sports with real-time industry news, allowing them to make more informed business decisions. SportsBusiness Daily is relevant, contemporary and edgy. Each day, to cut through the clutter and save our readers precious time, SportsBusiness Daily monitors hundreds of respected media sources: daily metropolitan newspapers; weekly business journals; the top sports, business and news periodicals; sports, news and business television and radio shows; and some of the industry's leading Internet publications.
Topics in Business
The Institute for Faith, Work & Economics (IFWE) combines well-researched theological and economic principles with practical resources to help Christians integrate their faith in the workplace and empower them to become better stewards of all their God-given talents and resources.
The Theology of Work Project (TOW) is the deepest, largest, and most trusted source of biblical, theological, and pastoral material related to work. Most of our materials are available free of charge on this website. Included, is the Theology of Work Bible Commentary--the only commentary covering what the entire Bible says about work.
Writing in Business
Business Letters A resource from the Colorado State Writing Center outlining tips and best practices for a dozen types of business letters.