It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A digital reference library of dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations, and subject-specific titles, covering many subjects, all from leading publishers.
Credo Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing more than 500 high-quality reference books from some of the world's leading publishers, this is a great place to start your research. The database contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, as well as a variety of subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. Besides textual information, you can also find thousands of images (including 17,000 art images from The Bridgeman Art Library Archive), sound files (especially pronunciations of words), and animations.
A must for Science topics! Find full-text ebooks, articles, and journal titles covering the latest and best research in the fields of physical and biological sciences, health sciences, technology, and significant numbers of journals in the social sciences and the humanities.
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content.
This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
You can learn anything. Expert-created content and resources for every course and level. Always free. Great tutorials for Math, Science, Computing, and Economics concepts! Also includes Arts, Humanities, and Test Prep topics.
Khan Academy is a non-profit educational organization created in 2008 by Salman Khan with the goal of creating a set of online tools that help educate students. The organization produces short lessons in the form of YouTube videos.
A nonprofit initiative offering fully free and online courses in many subject areas for self-paced learning. It offers nearly 100 full-length courses at the college education level.
Learning materials are created and curated by educational professionals. Most content is provided under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license. Some Third-party content is subject to copyright. https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/
SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks. SSRN is the number one research repository in the world, with networks within that span across multiple disciplines.
SSRN hosts over 325,000 authors’ submissions of nearly 600,000 papers and over 700,000 abstracts within the SSRN eLibrary, delivering over 100 million downloads.
Open Access Scholarly Articles, Books, Theses, and Dissertations Be aware that many of the recommended databases on the "Databases" tab will also contain theses and dissertations.
Find current research in the Sciences and Social Sciences. This resource has open access eBooks to read online or download. The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.
The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
It demonstrates the quality of UK research, and supports the UK Government’s open access principle that publications resulting from publicly-funded research should be made freely available for all researchers, providing opportunities for further research. EThOS helps institutions to meet the expectation of the UK Research Councils that PhDs supported by a Research Council Training Grant should be made freely available in an open access repository.
This brand-new edition has been completely revised and updated. With over 4,500 A-Z entries, 450 full-color photographs and drawings, over 150 fascinating feature notes, and full-page tables and charts, it is the most current and comprehensive student science dictionary available.
Written in an easily accessible style, this unrivaled study aid and reference tool is specifically designed to support those taking computer courses or courses where computers are used, including GCSE, A-Level, ECDL and 14-19 Diplomas in Functional Skills in schools and further education colleges.
Philosophy of Science A-Z gives concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science from A priori/a posteriori to Elie Zahar. It aids understanding of current debates, explains their historical development and connects them with broader philosophical issues. It presupposes little prior knowledge of philosophy of science and is equally useful to the beginner, the more advanced student and the general reader. Readers will find in it illuminating explanations, careful analysis, relevant examples, open problems and, last but not least, precise arguments.
From mass extinction to immunity, and from sociobiology to swarm behaviour, 50 Biology Ideas You Really Need to Know will open you eyes to the fundamental biological processes that are essential to all life on earth, beginning with innovations unique to animals - such as the development of muscles and importance of circulation - and moving through to genetics, cells, tissues and, finally, the nature of groups of organisms.
This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology. Extensively cross-referenced, the Dictionary includes definitions of terms, explanations of concepts, and biographies of historical figures. Comparative aspects are described in order to provide a sense of the evolution of structures.
Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.
This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on the human body through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.
Presenting a comprehensive and rigorously detailed overview of current research and its groundbreaking applications, this major reference work examines many peripheral topics surrounding the field such as law, ethics, medicine and public health, history, religion and industry.
Packed with descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, covers a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology, and zoology.
50 Chemistry Ideas You Really Need to Know is an engaging guide to the world of chemistry. From the molecules that kick-started life itself to nanotechnology, chemistry offers some fascinating insights into our origins, as well as continuing to revolutionize life as we know it.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary is a compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology. Provides concise, condensed, and prompt definitions of terms and phenomena in chemistry, biology, biochemistry, and more. Is ideal for those with only minutes to devote to any given chemical substance or topic.
Creation Research Society Quarterly is a peer-reviewed journal of scholarly articles focusing on Biblical Studies and Creationism within the major scientific disciplines. The Creation Research Society is a professional organization of trained scientists and interested laypersons who are firmly committed to scientific special creation.
Use LINK #1 to SEARCH for topics, keywords or article titles in Creation Research Society Quarterly. This link is like a search engine to help you find interesting articles for your assignments and does NOT have Full-Text! Use the links below to findFull-Text for the publication years 2014-1964.
For articles published in 2015 to the current year, you'll need to request the article as an Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Use this link to fill out a request for 2015 or newer articles only. Need Help with a request? Email, call or visit the library--We'll be happy to help!
See the Interlibrary Loan tutorial video for self-help.
We are an independent, reader- and foundation-funded organization that reports, publishes and curates journalism on environmental topics. We have two goals:
Put events and science driving the day's news in a larger context
Share our perspective as journalists and scientists with considerable expertise in the field. We've been at this since 2002 and have published EHN.org continuously since Aug. 2, 2003.
Find short articles on Core STEM concepts. Covers a wide selection from: Cell and Molecular Biology, Anatomy and Physiology, Organisms and Ecosystems, Evolution and Natural Selection, Astronomy, Earth and Its History, Weather and Climate, Physical-Sciences, and Engineering and Design.
For a limited time, AccessScience is pleased to support the online educational community by opening up access to the following core STEM articles to all learners.
The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program. You can search for data on specific compounds in the Chemistry WebBook based on name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, or selected ion energetics and spectral properties.
Learn how to conduct the final phase of the research process, including how to analyze, interpret, and present data; discuss the findings; and draw conclusions. This is the eighth video in the Introduction to Research series.
Learn how to report scientific research in APA Style according to Journal Article Reporting Standards, including what key elements to include in the title, author note, abstract, introduction, method, results, and discussion.
Learn about research strategies and variables, including the design choices a researcher must make when constructing an experiment, along with the implications of those choices for the types of variables examined; the causal and noncausal relationships between variables; data analysis; study design; study setting; and study validity, generalizability, and reproducibility. This is the third video in the Introduction to Research series.
Learn how to understand whether claims of truth are valid, including ways of understanding truth, using the scientific method, and critically evaluate research methods and conclusions. This is the first video in the Introduction to Research series.
Students in the Sciences will typically use APA style in their academic research. Here are some helpful resources.
Basic Template for APA Style Papers
APA style 7th edition makes provisions for two types of papers: Student papers and Professional papers (i.e. aim is to publish your paper.)Typically, you will use a Student paper format. The main difference is there is NO "running head."
Other style preferences or paper sections (i.e. abstract, methods, etc.) may vary based on your professor or assignment type. Be sure to read all directions from your professor and this template.
STUDENT Paper Template (No running head)
This Word.doc template is a starting point. It includes an abstract section, but not all professors require every "part" to a typical APA style paper. CHECK with your professor's requirements and adjust accordingly. The template includes instructions that need to be erased.
Academic Writer (APA Style) is a complete digital environment for APA Style and proper formatting. Use it to fully write your paper! Use the digital library of guides, videos, quizzes, samples, and more to master APA style.
-Compose various types of research papers.
-Think and write like seasoned professionals.
-Master the application of APA Style.
Concise Guide_Student Paper Checklist APA 7th
Helpful checklist to use as you prepare your paper and ensure you have all of the sections you need. be aware some sections or parts of APA style may not be needed by your professor. Ask your professor when in doubt!
Heading Levels Student Paper Example APA 7th
Use this example to learn how to format headings and sub-topic headings within a longer or complex paper. Remember, your professor may assign specific sections (i.e. a methods ) and you will want to know how to format all levels of headings.
Learn Basics of APA Style 7th Edition with this video tutorial.
(Note: Off-Campus network users -- Login with NCU credentials to view)
Data Set Citations & References Example citations for various Data Set situations. Examples are for the References List.
Data Set Reference
Learn how to format references for data sets, including publicly archived data sets used in secondary analyses or a researcher’s own data set being presented for the first time in the current work.
You are also welcome to stop in at any of H.L.C.'s Grab and Go locations for a physical library card: https://www.hclib.org/about/current-services/grab-go You need a piece of mail or bill with your name and current NCU local address (i.e. NCU mail label, envelope, or bill.)