LibGuides: English: Databases & Journals

Recommended Databases & Journals

Recommended Databases for English

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 12,500 electronic books, including scholarly monographs, reference materials, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Available through the Hennepin County Library (click on "Get a Hennepin County Library card" under Quicklinks to order yours today).
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, primary sources, and books covering the humanities, social sciences, math, and sciences. Articles generally become available 3-5 years after publication. Coverage varies by journal.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Available through the Hennepin County Library (click on "Get a Hennepin County Library card" under Quicklinks to order yours today).
Commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and journals. Covers poetry, drama, novels, short stories, and more. Goes back to 1400.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Available through the Hennepin County Library (click on "Get a Hennepin County Library card" under Quicklinks to order yours today).
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes criticism, plot summaries, and dictionary of literary terms. Goes back to 1400.
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Available through the Hennepin County Library (click on "Get a Hennepin County Library card" under Quicklinks to order yours today).
Full-text poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays with summaries, biographies and images. Some content is citations and abstracts.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for public libraries, this offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference eBooks and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text essays that present multiple sides of debatable issues. Includes many Current issues! Find articles and news articles. Great for a Persuasive paper on an "issue."

Points of View Reference Center contains essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. For each issue, the database provides an overview, point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics covered include affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, stem cell research, and many more.

Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, dreawing from leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books. It is is a tool to help you develop persuasive arguments, understand controversial issues, develop analytical thinking skills, and write position papers effectively.
Short Story Index This link opens in a new window
Available through the Hennepin County Library (click on "Get a Hennepin County Library card" under Quicklinks to order yours today).
Citations and some full-text stories from collections and anthologies published each year in all literary genres. Goes back to 1984.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Available through the Hennepin County Library (click on "Get a Hennepin County Library card" under Quicklinks to order yours today).
Productions of the world's leading plays and documentaries discussing the history of theatre, acting methods, pioneering dramatists, and actors.
Umbra Search This link opens in a new window
Umbra Search African American History (umbrasearch.org) brings together more than 400,000 digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.
Umbra Search African American History seeks to make African American history more broadly accessible through a freely available widget and search tool, umbrasearch.org; digitization of African American materials across University of Minnesota collections; and support of students, educators, artists, and the public through residencies, workshops, and events locally and around the country.

Recommended Journals

American Poetry Review
Contemporary poetry, fiction, social commentary, opinion, translations and reviews for a general audience.
Antioch Review
Prints essays, fiction, poetry, and book reviews, with occasional special issues on topics of contemporary interest and importance.
The Atlantic
Features articles for the general reader, reports & comments on recent events in history, humor, fiction, poetry, arts & leisure, & book reviews.
Ploughshares
Fiction, poetry, essays, commentary and reviews guest-edited serially by prominent writers, who explore different and personal visions, aesthetics and literary circles.
Arc Poetry Magazine
A semiannual magazine publishing poetry and poetry criticism covering both new and established writers, as well as articles and reviews. Focused particularly, but not exclusively, on Canadian poets. For general and academic audiences.
The Virginia quarterly review
A national journal of literature and discussion published by the University of Virginia. Articles, poetry, fiction and discussions of recent books of note.
American Literature
Features articles dealing with American literature, writers and poets, book reviews and lists of recently published books dealing with literary criticism.
Children's Literature in Education
Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.
Christianity and Literature
Literature/Christianity/Church History
Journal of Modern Literature
Each issue emphasizes scholarly studies of literature in all languages, as well as related arts and cultural artifacts, from 1900 to the present; publication is international in its scope.
Language & Literature
Articles, notes and book reviews on literary history, theory and interpretation and original material such as letters, journals and notebooks aimed at scholars and critics of language and literature.