Today's Hours |
Global and Multi-regional Resources
Assemblies of God World Missions The missions sending arm of the Assemblies of God.
Association of Religion Data Archives The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA.
BBC News - World The British Broadcasting Company's world news outlet.
Center for the Study of Global Christianity Based out of Godron-Conwell Theological Seminary, the Center "collates and analyzes data on church membership and evangelistic activities collected around the world by Christian denominations."
CIA (World factbook section) The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Empire Online This project has been developed to encourage undergraduates, postgraduates, academics and researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.
Frontier Ventures Formerly known as the U.S. Center for World Mission. Their initiatives include publishing, educational, training, strategic, and mobilization ventures that are designed to solve problems relating to the frontiers of mission.
Global Research A department of the International Missions Board (Southern Baptist) providing strategic information and research for missions. Home of the Global Status of Evangelical Christianity monthly reports.
Global Wealth (Institute for Faith and Learning) Articles and resources from Baylor University's Institute for Faith and Learning: Joseph McKinney examines the new global economy's distribution of benefits and burdens. Douglas Hicks explains why even if globalization is increasing total wealth, the disparities between rich and poor nations (and between wealthy and disadvantaged people) remain morally appalling. Henry Rempel challenges us to reorient our economy to protect things for which there is no market price -- common property (like air and water and wilderness) and the needs of future generations.
Human Rights Watch Human Rights Watch is a nonprofit, nongovernmental human rights organization made up of roughly 400 staff members around the globe. Its staff consists of human rights professionals including country experts, lawyers, journalists, and academics of diverse backgrounds and nationalities. Established in 1978, Human Rights Watch is known for its accurate fact-finding, impartial reporting, effective use of media, and targeted advocacy, often in partnership with local human rights groups.
Joshua Project Joshua Project is a non-profit Christian ministry focused on gathering and distributing information about the world's least-reached ethnic people groups.
Missions and Cinema From Yale University Library, an informal listing of films in which missionaries are prominent characters or are portrayed in interesting ways.
Operation World An organization focused on praying for all the world's nations that gives basic information about countries and peoples around the world.
The Pluralism Project A research project of Harvard University whose mission is to help Americans engage with the realities of religious diversity through research, outreach, and the active dissemination of resources.
Report on the World Social Situation (RWSS) Prepared biennially by the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs' (DESA) Division for Social Policy and Development, the report focuses on socio-economic issues and social trends.
Traveling Well (Institute for Faith and Learning) Articles and resources from Baylor University's Institute for Faith and Learning: "We travel a lot, on short trips and long journeys. We inevitably return home transformed by the places we visit and persons we meet, if we pay them loving attention. Our contributors examine the trips we take--for vacation, pilgrimage, retreat, or short-term missions--and consider how we can travel well." "Carelessly assembled short-term mission trips may jeopardize long-term ministry and create unhealthy dependencies," Curt Kruschwitz admits, but "when framed in the context of joining God’s mission and used to nurture spiritual growth, they can be of immense value to God’s kingdom." The study guides and lesson plans integrate Bible study, prayer, and worship to examine how we can travel well. The guides can be used in a series or individually. You may download and reproduce them for personal or group use.
U.N. High Commission for Refugees The U.N.'s refugee agency, providing statistical data about refugees around the world.
UNESCO United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization - The "intellectual" agency of the U.N.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication. As the official statistical agency of UNESCO, the UIS produces a wide range of indicators in UNESCO’s fields of action by working with national statistical offices, line ministries and other statistical organizations.
UNICEF An organization started by the United Nations to promote and work for the welfare of children worldwide. Provides infromation on the situations and needs of children in over 190 countries.
World Bank - Data The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog.
WHO (World Health Organization) The U.N.'s organization for gathering information on and setting policies related to global health. Their site contains information and statistics about health and healthcare in all of its 194 member countries.
WorldMap This site contains various forms of information including maps, tabular data sets, and written descriptions helpful in assessing the current status of Missions progress throughout the world.
Africa
African Statistical Yearbook A summary of annual statistics taken by the U.N. Economic Commission for Africa covering demographics, health, education, poverty, economics and more.
Africa Today Presents scholarly work from around the world on a full range of political, economic, and social issues; provides perspectives for addressing contemporary problems facing Africa.
Dictionary of African Christian Biography The DACB is an international undertaking aimed at producing an electronic database containing the essential biographical facts of African Christian leaders, evangelists, and lay workers chiefly responsible for laying the foundations, shaping the character, and advancing the growth of Christian communities across Africa.
Asia and Pacific
American China Missions: An Introductory Bibliography A selective, lightly annotated listing of fewer than 100 basic books and articles in English on Western missionaries in modern China
Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Christianity Recording the life stories of significant figures in Chinese Christianity across the centuries and around the world.
China Daily (online) A Beijing-based news outlet. Choose from China, Europe, Africa and Asia Pacific editions using the links along the very top of the page.
Documentation of Christianity in Hong Kong Database From Hong Kong Baptist University - identifies the location of primary sources and publications related to Hong Kong Christianity
Korean Culture and Information Service (KOCIS) KOCIS is engaged in many different projects to widely promote the beauty of Korea and to enhance cultural exchanges with other countries. KOCIS also runs the online news site Korea.net. Here, you can read news and watch videos about Korea and learn about everything from our thousands of years of history through to our pop stars, cinema and TV shows. KOCIS produces premium content related to Korea. It produces and distributes PR videos, as well as publications, that introduce Korea properly, in order to widely promote a proper understanding of the country. It draws interest from people all over the world by producing various themed PR videos, many targeted to different countries.
Online Archive of Korean Christianity From UCLA - This English-language archive catalogues primary sources about Korean Christianity and its global connections, especially Protestant documents and photography in early modern and colonial Korea.
The Ricci Roundtable A Web database which allows users to browse and search information related to contributions of Catholic, Protestant, and Orthodox missionaries in China.
South Asia Missionary Archives Guide A preliminary guide to archival collections relating to American Protestant missionary activity in South Asia (including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Burma/Myanmar, Ceylon/Sri Lanka, India, Nepal, and Pakistan) - with a focus on the holdings of undergraduate liberal arts colleges in the United States.
Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific A summary of annual statistics taken by the U.N. Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific covering demographics, health, education, poverty, economics and more.
Europe
Eurostat The European Commission's site for statistics related to Europe and the EU.
Americas
Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean A summary of annual statistics taken by the U.N. Economic Commission for Latin America covering demographics, health, education, poverty, economics and more.
Middle East
Al Jazeera (online) The English edition of the Qatar-based news outlet.
The Jerusalem Post (online) The English website of an Israeli newspaper covering news in Israel and the Jewish world.
Muslim, Christian, and Jewish Relations in the Middle East From the University of Pennsylvania - aims to promote the humanistic study of urban religious cultures in the Middle East and North Africa during the Islamic era, i.e., in the period following the rise of Islam in the seventh century. It seeks to draw the attention of researchers to useful resources, and particularly to printed books, manuscripts, and images in the library collections of the University of Pennsylvania.
N. America Diaspora
Intercultural Ministires A ministry of the Assemblies of God USA focused on launching and supporting U.S. missionaries who are called to people groups that require specialized understanding and preparation.